Cricket Online Sports Betting Guide

Cricket is by far the most popular sport in India, and one that always attracts attention. It doesn’t matter who you are, or where you live, if there is a major match taking place, you will know about it, and probably be betting on the outcome too. Whether it is a local T20 game or the Indian Premier League, an international test match between Australia and England, or a wager on the World Cup, online sports betting is the ideal way to bet and win big on your favourite team.

The Three Main Cricket Formats

If this is your first time wagering on Cricket, it is important to note that sports betting India sites offer markets and odds on every type of event. It may be worth specialising in one type of style as each format requires a different level of skill from the batsman and bowlers.

Test Cricket, also known as 5-day, is the oldest format of the game. Played over 5 days, this format sees each team play two innings with as many overs as it takes to bowl out the entire team. It often happens that the match is a draw when teams cannot complete both their innings.

One Day Internationals or ODI’s are more popular and are played in a single day, often stretching into the evening. ODI matches are ideal for live sports betting as the momentum can swing at any time when a major wicket is taken or if consecutive boundaries are scored. In this format, each team is given 50 overs to score as many runs as possible as long as they keep their 10 wickets.

Twenty20 or T20 Cricket is fast becoming the most popular format of the game. This is the base format of the IPL, with teams getting just 20 overs to score all their runs. A T20 game can last just a few hours and is packed full of action with big hits and close finishes.

Popular Cricket Leagues and Tournaments

All top-rated online sports betting sites will offer markets on local leagues, international leagues and major international tournaments. At home, putting money on the Indian Cricket League is popular with outright and match bets. The biggest domestic tournament is the Indian Premier League, commonly known as the IPL. This T20 tournament is one of the largest attended sporting events in the world and offers great live sports betting opportunities on each match.

The biggest international tournament is the ICC Cricket World Cup. This is an ODI tournament that is held every four years with only the top nations competing for the title of World Champions. The T20 World Cup is also popular, along with the ICC Champions trophy, the Champions League T20 Tournament, and of course, the Ashes Tournament. The British-based Natwest Series is also a big one for online sports betting as is as the Australian Tri-Series, the Commonwealth Bank Series and the Asia Cup.

Popular Cricket Markets

Online sports betting India sites will offer a huge range of outright and match markets for every tournament or game. Outright bets can be placed on leagues our tournaments where you are predicting the overall Cup winner, the runners up or the teams to make it to the finals.

For individual matches, moneyline bets can be placed on the winning team. Some online sports betting sites will also offer handicap markets when two teams are not evenly matched. If you are intimately familiar with the sport, you may want to try out some of the prop markets. These can include predicting the winner of the coin toss, if any batsman will score a century, if any bowler will take 5 wickets and who will score the most sixes in the match.